Kick-Start the Year #4: Get Inspired

This is an easy one – and fun to boot! Browse through magazines and clip out images that appeal to you. They don’t even have to be fashion magazines (home and travel magazines have great inspirational photos too.) For you Pinterest fans, it’s a great place to create an inspiration board – and now they’ve set it up so you can even keep it private if you’re not ready to share with the rest of the world. (Check out my boards HERE.)

Then spend some time thinking about what drew you to the images you selected – was it color, shape, texture?  Okay – I’ll go first!  Here are a few photos that I selected:

pinterest 60's feather headdresspinterest greecepinterest bookcase passage

What drew me to these particular images? The one word I use to describe them all is “dramatic”!  I love that beautiful headdress (even though it’s something I probably wouldn’t wear.  Well….maybe I would!) That mountain-top in Greece surrounded by fog – amazing! And I’ve always been a fan of secret spaces and hideaways – I would just love the drama of this library panel opening into a private space.

Now think about how you could incorporate more of those attributes into your wardrobe. You don’t have to start large – try adding in accessories that share that special element, or find those items in your closet that already have that element and play around with featuring them more prominently in the outfits you put together.

Baby-step #4: Get Inspired!

About adenadesigns

I love sharing style and fashion info with other fashion-loving women and helping them look their very best. Dressing Fashionably Should Always Be Easy!
This entry was posted in Inspiration and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

