Ruby Red Lips

This is the perfect time of year to break out the red lipstick. Even if ‘ruby’ red isn’t your color – there is certain to be a shade that is perfect for you.  Audrey Hepburn…Marilyn Monroe…Gwen Stefani…all illustrate the powerful impact of a red lipstick.

Some tips: Try lipsticks on in a good light – I like Sephora because they generally provide great lighting for playing around with cosmetics.  Once I find a shade that I think is perfect, I will often leave the store and take a drive so I can see myself in all natural light. It’s surprising how often a shade will look differently on you once you leave even the best artificial lighting.

Next, once you’ve found your perfect shade, make sure you line your lips (I even fill in the whole lip with liner to make a uniform base for the lipstick to cling to.)  I use a liner that either matches my lips as closely as possible or is close to the shade of the lipstick I’m using.

Apply one coat of lipstick, blot and then apply another coat.  Remember to keep the rest of your makeup (eyes, blush) less intense – let your lips be the focus.

Photo: Sephora website

I was on a major quest last year to find the “perfect” red lipstick…and I tried them all – brands that were recommended in various magazines “best of” lists – both drugstore and department store brands.  Most were too drying, in spite of their claims.  But I finally hit upon the one that worked for me – Dior Addict – in shade 753.  Yes, it’s pricier than many others, but it does have staying power and is also moist.

With the holidays just around the corner, get ready to pucker up those beautiful red lips!

About adenadesigns

I love sharing style and fashion info with other fashion-loving women and helping them look their very best. Dressing Fashionably Should Always Be Easy!
This entry was posted in Cosmetics. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

