Are You From the US?

Yes, that’s what the lovely young woman said to me as I was waiting for my morning latte, en route to a luncheon. I guess my face registered surprise at the question, because she said “Well, you look so sharp! No one here dresses like that.”  (Now, please understand, I’m not telling this story to brag or anything like that, just merely to lead us into the topic.)  Her sad-but-unfortunately true comment got me to thinking about what seems to be increasingly more apparent – we’ve gone from “casual Friday” to careless everyday dressing.

This conversation occurred within a few days of author Danielle Steele being quoted in the San Francisco Chronicle about the Bay Area in particular’s lack of care when it comes to fashion.  “..it’s as if everyone is dressed to go on a camping trip.”

What we’re not talking here about is about dressing in the most expensive items, nor are we talking about “casual” as a “bad” way to dress.  What we’re talking about at a minimum is dressing with care … maybe even throwing in a bit of personal flair… and that can be done for any occasion, casual or otherwise, on virtually any budget.

Just so you know, I wasn’t dressed that day in any ‘over the top’ way.  Here’s an approximation of what I was wearing that day, including my favorite rose/red lipstick. All that’s missing are the sheer pin-striped tights.

Are You From the US?

What do you think about our style, or lack thereof, as a culture?

About adenadesigns

I love sharing style and fashion info with other fashion-loving women and helping them look their very best. Dressing Fashionably Should Always Be Easy!
This entry was posted in Cultural Style and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

